Tip #138 – Word and Excel

Word/Excel: Trust me – I’m a doctor

 

If you are constantly opening up files (from a source you say is good – like a shared network drive) – and Word, or Excel, is displaying the Protected View banner….you can disable this.

 

Protected View is a read-only mode in which most of the editing functions are disabled to help protect you from potentially malicious software.

 

But if you’re opening up files from a source you know and trust – like a shared drive…you just have to let Word (and Excel) know that this source is trustworthy.

 

Full tip: Word and Excel tip